Marissa Mazza: Special Ed teacher

April 19, 2013

 

Marissa Mazza has been a special education teacher at Leonia Middle School for the past four years. She attended Saint Joseph’s University in Philadelphia and double majored in elementary and special education. She will complete her master’s in special education learning disabilities at William Paterson University in May. Marissa lives on Grandview Terrace with her parents, Vito and Kay Mazza, her brother Vito, her sister-in-law Tara and her 1 1/2-year-old niece Isabella.

Q: Did you always want to be a teacher?

A: Yes. I was lucky to grow up with two great role models. My mother taught special education in Leonia for many years; when I was a student at the middle school she was one of the teachers there. My father started his career as an English teacher.

Q: Are your parents from Leonia?

A: Dad’s from Jersey City; Mom’s from southern Illinois. Her father transferred to New Jersey when she was a senior in high school. They met at Jersey City State College, where they were both studying to be teachers. Dad worked for World Book Encyclopedias for 25 years; they moved to Leonia for the proximity to the city.

Q: Growing up, how did you spend your summers in Leonia?

A: During my college vacations I came back to Leonia and was in the chorus for three Summerstage productions: “Carnival,” “Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat” and “Oliver!” All were fabulous experiences. Growing up I was active in several recreation sports programs including AYSO soccer, softball and swimming. The Leonia Swim Club was like a second home for me. I was on the swim yeam, and was a lifeguard until 2010. Barbara Davidson practically watched me grow up. I was also a swim coach and coached many of the swimmers on the LHS swim team that recently won the state sectional championship.

Q: Were you an athlete in college?

A: I was on the Division 1 crew team for two years until I sustained a stress fracture in my ribs two years into it. It was a great experience and we travelled to the Freshman 8 in San Diego when I was a freshman.

Q: What was your first job after graduating from college?

A: I was a one-on-one special education aide at Leonia Middle School while attending graduate school. I was later transferred to the ABA (autistic) classroom at ACS. At the end of the year, a teaching position opened in the Multiple Disabilities (MD) classroom at LMS. I’ve been there four years now. My first class of students that I taught are now juniors at the high school.

Q: What’s it like teaching in your hometown?

A: Leonia Schools’ special education program is phenomenal. One of the activities that I lead at LMS is the Circle of Friends, in which special education and regular education students meet weekly for lunch to help students develop social skills. They develop a unique camaraderie which continues at the high school. My students tell me they feel very included among the general school population and have not experienced bullying. Perhaps it’s because Leonia is such a diverse community; special education kids are just another group.

Q: Do you have a favorite day at school?

A: I have many, but one that I always look forward to is the special education picnic held every spring in Wood Park. Every year I get 10 caterpillars and the students watch them evolve into butterflies in the classroom. At the picnic, we set the butterflies free. It’s very meaningful for the eighth graders who will be moving on to high school. I also enjoy chaperoning my students on the eighth grade cruise around Manhattan. They get dressed up, dance and mingle with the other kids, who are all so supportive and give them high-fives. It’s so gratifying and fun to watch them on their way to adulthood.

Q: What’s one of the most memorable events that has happened to you?

A: It was a life-altering event that happened to my father in 2003. We were both acting in the Summerstage production of Joseph. He got through the first weekend, but while at work on Monday, he slumped over and his heart stopped. A co-worker started CPR and called 9-1-1. He was shocked twice and revived. It was a show-stopper for him when it came to Joseph, but due to quick action on the part of his co-workers, he survived. I had CPR training as a lifeguard, but dad’s experience made it real for me. You never know when you’ll need to use it, or other life-saving measures – on a family member or stranger. My boyfriend Dave has Type I diabetes, so I’m familiar with the complications from that. As a footnote, I’m happy to say that a few years ago, a member of Summerstage, Rachael Kantor, raised funds, in conjunction with the Leonia Home and School associations, to purchase defibrillators for Leonia schools as part of her bat mitzvah project.

Q: What’s your favorite Leonia tradition?

A: I always spend 4th of July at the pool. I’m known for organizing and leading the “Cotton-Eyed Joe” dance. I’ve also taught it to my students at LMS. They love it.

Q: Besides the pool, what’s a favorite destination in Leonia?

A: As a kid, I spent a lot of time hanging out on the cannon and anchor in front of the Legion Hall, after spending the morning in Holy Spirit Nursery School. My family has also celebrated every major life event at the Legion Hall – my baptism, first communion, confirmation, Sweet 16, high school and college graduation.

Q: How do you relax after work?

A: I work out every day. I walk my dogs, Bailey and Willy, down Broad Avenue. All the kids greet me. “Hi, Miss Mazza!” It’s nice to have that connection with the kids in town. I run. I’ve done two sprint triathlons that benefit autism awareness. I also organized a team from the Leonia School District for the Autism Speaks Walk, which will be held May 19 this year. Anyone can participate or contribute by going to walknowforautismspeaks.org/nnj/leonia.

Q: What advice do you have for Leonia’s teenagers?

A: Get involved. Take advantage of all the programs and organizations that Leonia (both town and school) offers. My whole family has benefitted from participating. Mom was a Girl Scout leader; Dad is active in the Leonia Players Guild, Summerstage, Knights of Columbus and is on the board of the Retirement Housing; my brother Vito was an EMT and a volunteer fireman.

One thought on “Marissa Mazza: Special Ed teacher

Leave a comment