Charlie Lee: Crossing guard

March 22, 2013

Charlie Lee is a crossing guard at Leonia’s busiest intersection: Fort Lee Road and Broad Avenue. He has lived in Leonia, with his wife Suzie, and their three children, Roy, Reena and Ray, for twelve years.

Where did you grow up?
I grew up in Seoul, Korea and graduated high school there. I was the youngest of three kids. My mother was a seamstress and specialized in making traditional Korean gowns for weddings and special occasions. My father was a carpenter.

What type of work did you do after high school?
I had to enlist in the military for two years, which is mandatory for all young men in Korea. Then I worked in a printing company.

What brought you to the United States?
My sister visited the U.S. and met an American who eventually became her husband. In 1988, we all came for the wedding, which was held in New York City. I was only 25 and in awe of New York City. I stayed and got a job with a Korean newspaper.

What surprised you most about New York City?
The diversity of people and cultures–Spanish, White, Black, Asian peoples–all speaking the same language. It was so different than Korea, where everyone was Korean.

How did you meet your wife?
In 1994, she came here from Japan for a vacation. We met on the streets of Manhattan, after she asked me for directions. I offered to show her the sights of New York. Although her primary language was Japanese and mine Korean, we both knew enough English to communicate. We married a year later.

Why did you move to Leonia?
We had been living in Manhattan, but after two kids, we wanted a place in the country. We drove to New Jersey, went to a realtor in Fort Lee, and he recommended Leonia. We bought our house on Spring Street in 2000. All my kids have gone through Anna C. Scott School. My oldest son, Roy, graduates from Leonia High School this year.

How did you get your job as a crossing guard?
Shortly after we moved here, I saw an ad in the local newspaper and applied. I’ve been doing it twelve years and I love it. I’m the first Korean-American crossing guard in Leonia.

Everyone seems to have an anecdote about how well you do your job. What’s it like getting 700-plus elementary school children safely across the most busy intersection in Bergen County twice a day?
Hard work! So much traffic going to the city and all the drivers are in a hurry and don’t pay attention to the lights. They try to beat the light and turn into the intersection even if people are crossing. So I have to be alert every second. But there’s never been an accident on my watch and I intend to keep it that way.

Have you always worked that intersection?
For a few months they assigned me to Glenwood and Fort Lee Road, but that was too boring for me.

What’s the most satisfying part of being a crossing guard?
I get thank-you’s all day long from children, their parents, and senior citizens for helping them cross safely. At Christmas, children give me Christmas candy and candy bars. On really cold days, people bring me coffee or hot cocoa; on hot days, they bring cold drinks and bottled water. I was also given a Shield Award by the Knights of Columbus in 2011. They honored me at a breakfast.

What’s the busiest day for you as a crossing guard?
Halloween! I work very hard that day! The kids are excited and don’t pay attention.

Do you watch American sports?
I’m a huge Yankee fan–especially of the Japanese players. I also watch soccer.

Have you taken any martial arts classes?
I took a little tae kwon do, but not judo or ju jitsu.

What do you do in your spare time?
I’m a distributor for NuSkin and sell vitamins and skin care products. I have my own website charlie.nsedreams.com.

What’s your favorite American holiday?
Christmas! We make a special cake and have friends over. On New Year’s Day, we make special Japanese rice cakes that pop.

What do you most enjoy doing in town?
I enjoy going to school events such as the winter and spring concerts and the LHS Talent Show. My son Roy can do the Rubik’s cube with his feet in under a minute.

What’s your favorite restaurant in Leonia?
Todam Korean BBQ on Broad Avenue. At home, my wife mostly makes Japanese food–sushi and sashimi–which I love, but Korean BBQ is a treat.

What’s the primary language spoken in your home?
All my kids are trilingual and are fluent in English, Japanese and Korean. I speak a little Japanese and my wife speaks a little Korean. At home, we speak a combination of all three. The most important thing is that we all understand each other. My son Roy wants to become a linguist.

Where do you take the family on vacation?
Our favorite family vacation place is Great Wolf Lodge in the Poconos.

What’s the ringtone on your phone?
Gangnam Style, of course!

What do you most enjoy about Leonia?
There are so many parks for the children to play. Station Park is right behind my house, and right behind that is Overpeck Park. Living in Leonia is like living in the country.

 

Leave a comment