Ann Park: Elementary School Helper

June 17, 2011

new doc 2018-04-29 17.52.32_1

Ann Park was not only the first Korean-American to volunteer at Anna C. Scott (ACS) but also the first to be hired in the Leonia schools system in November 1999. As a kindergarten aide, she is one of the most familiar faces at ACS to students of all ages in Leonia. She was among the original group of parents who formed the Korean Parents Association. She lives with her husband and two daughters on Glenwood Avenue. Her older daughter Iris attends Syracuse University and Jennifer is a junior at Leonia High School.

Q: Where are you originally from?

A: I grew up in Seoul, Korea, one of the world’s largest cities with a population of over 10 million. I was one of six kids.

Q: What did you want to be when you grew up?

A: I always wanted to help children. Even in high school, when the principal asked me what I wanted to be, I said, “a helper.” Not a teacher, not a disciplinarian, but a helper. I love my job helping the kids at ACS.

Q: You are one of the most beloved and respected employees at ACS. Principal Maria Martinez recently said that if Ann Park ever called in sick, they’d have to close the school. “Ann is always on hand with a smile on her face, greeting the kids at the entrance as they make their way into the school each morning.”

A: I’m doing what I always wanted to do. Every day I get to help and guide the children, assist the teachers, and support the principal.

Q When did you move to the United States?

A: I moved with my parents and my brother to Manhattan in 1985, when I was 29. My family sold their restaurant in Seoul and opened a vegetable market on 23rd and 2nd Avenue. None of us spoke any English when we arrived.

Q: Why did you leave Korea?

A: Korea was a very poor country back then with few jobs and even fewer opportunities. Now Korea has a booming economy thanks in part to the success of technology companies like Samsung and Daewoo, and the Korean car manufacturer Hyundai. We moved to the States because my sister lived in New York City. We came in search of the American dream. I haven’t been back to Korea since.

Q: What was the American Dream for you?

A: I watched a lot of American movies, so I had dreams of getting dressed up every night and going to parties. When I lived in Korea my sense of the United States was that there were always parties happening where one got to wear beautiful dresses. Instead, I was up early and going to bed late working in the vegetable market.

Q: How did you meet your husband?

A: My brother-in-law introduced us. My husband was a computer technology student in Manhattan. On our second date, we learned we had both gone to the same elementary school in Seoul, and were in the same grade, just different classes! After we married, we moved to Atlanta to start a limousine business during the 1996 Summer Olympics. Unfortunately, after that summer, our business didn’t last so we moved to New Jersey. A friend from Palisades Park recommended Leonia as a quiet place to live and we have been here ever since.

Q: What do you like most about Leonia?

A: The people. Everyone has been kind and friendly to me in this community, even when I didn’t speak the language that well. I also love the Leonia Public Library and have spent many hours there reading books and magazines. My favorite is People magazine.

Q: How did you initially learn English?

A: I learned to read along with my children. They would read children’s books to me and I would listen to books on tape.

Q: How did you get started as a volunteer at ACS?

A: I was the first Korean parent to help in the lunch room. Many of the kindergarten children needed help, especially with opening their milk. I became the “unofficial translator/liaison” for both children and parents. Now there are many Korean parents who volunteer in the schools – for the international dinner, for the art fair and book fair. I helped Mrs. Won form the Korean Parents Association (KPA) several years ago. Although I’m no longer an active member, the KPA cooks for the Teacher Appreciation Luncheon and raises money selling Korean food at Leonia Day.

Q: What was your first paid job at ACS?

A: When one of the lunch aides quit, my daughter’s third-grade teacher, Mrs. Megargee, suggested they hire me. Now I’m a kindergarten classroom aide, helping in all the classes.

Q: You’re like a second parent to every kindergartner. You greet them all at the front door, get them to class, and help in the classroom. You’re always talking with the kids. What do you tell them?

A: I tell them to always listen to the teacher.

Q: You’ve also been the translator and liaison for many parents at ACS. What advice do you give new parents?

A: I tell them to talk to the teachers before the principals. The teachers know the children the best.

Q: What’s your favorite American holiday?

A: Thanksgiving! We go to a restaurant in the city and eat turkey.

Q: Do you watch American television shows and movies?

A: My favorite TV show is Friends and my favorite actress is Jennifer Aniston. My favorite singer is Whitney Houston! I cried when kindergarten teacher Debbie Saracino sang “The Greatest Love of All” at the ACS graduation a few years ago. I felt very moved by the words.

Leave a comment